Minimalism update re: books

Earlier this month I wrote about “ridding myself of life’s excess” and embarking on the process of decluttering and living with less stuff. I managed to get many containers of donations to the local thrift store and finally threw out stuff that wasn’t good for anyone.

This month I tackled my bookshelf. It was the part of my room I dreaded decluttering more than my make up drawer or closet. The books I own(ed) were the ones I had read a few times and loved. I never bought a book I hadn’t already read – that sounds weird, but taking a $20 chance on a book that could be a dud wasn’t fun. I liked to collect the books I cherished. It wasn’t until someone tagged me in a Twitter discussion about getting rid of books that I gave it any thought.

Books on a shelf make you feel/seem smart and well-read. Books on a shelf served a secondary purpose as decor. Books on a shelf reminded me of what stories mattered to me over the years. Could I let them go?

Reading Be More With Less blog post on letting go of books helped. She gives great tips on how to let go and acknowledges why it’s hard to do it, even when we want to declutter. With that inspiration, I pulled all the books from my shelf (not including my Paralegal textbooks!) and started letting go. Most novels were read once and never opened again, some others were duplicates (either my mum or my brother had a copy too), and some I never ended up reading.

After considering how much value (real or sentimental) each book contributed to my life, I had a large bag full of books to get rid of and 10 books left on my shelf. I took the bag to the local used bookstore for a trade in and ended up getting $48 cash. Sure, I probably spent a lot more than that, but a little extra cash is better than none at all! While I was there, I browsed around and found a book my brother is interested in reading and picked it up for a fraction of the hardcover sale price (his birthday is in a few weeks).

So, what did getting rid of books do for me? It unburdened me from the annoyance of trying to fit things on the shelf in a certain way and it freed up an entire shelf where I can display some of my “sentimental tokens”. It also looks better!

Wondering what books I kept?

  1. David Beckham by David Beckham, 2013
    • I’ve been a fan since I was 10 years old and I loved how this book captured the many highlights of his career. I also submitted a photo (along with 9,999 others) to be part of the “fan photo mosaic”, so I’m in there! Even if it’s only a few pixels 🙂
  2. Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote
    • Much different from the movie, but I still felt drawn to this version of Holly Golightly  – and it did inspire my favourite movie!
  3. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
    • “And in that moment, I swear we were infinite.” Enough said.
  4. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
    • As someone who has suffered from depression, I felt an understanding with this story and I remember the emotion it evoked in my when I read it for a grade 12 novel study. Hoping to read it again soon (but no worries, I’m in a good place now!)
  5. La Edad de Oro by Jose Marti
    • The first time I traveled to Cuba I was 8 years old and my parents brought lots of toiletries to give to people we met. We gave a man at the book booth in Havana bars of soap and toothpaste. He showed his utmost gratitude by giving me this book.
  6. How to be Lovely: The Audrey Hepburn Way of Life
    • Her elegance has always been inspiring to me and I love how this small book draws quotes on many aspects of life (career, love, health, dogs). She was beautiful inside and out.
  7. Baha’u’llah’s Teachings on Spiritual Reality
    • An old friend lent this to me to introduce me to the Baha’i faith but I never got a chance to give it back (I think she lives in Europe now). It’s a great, concise, collection of spiritual teachings and a really readable way to begin learning about the faith. I still read it (and I have more teachings on my iPad).
  8. The Ultimate Student Cookbook by Tiffany Goodall
    • I’ve actually cooked several recipes from this book. I should probably move it to the kitchen though.
  9. Hyperspace by Michio Kaku
    • Ok, technically my boyfriend’s book that somehow ended up in my boxes but I did read about half of it a few years ago. It’s my “aspiration” book because it’s so far from my realm of knowledge (I’m not he science type), but I still want to revisit it and be able to say, “Yeah, I read that.” I also feel like a Stephen Hawking book would be good for this too.
  10. Dragonball Z comic book in French
    • From my boyfriend. He passed this childhood favourite of his to me earlier in our relationship and even though I never actually read it (oops!!), it’s awesome to see something that was special for him growing up.

They may not be intellectual or literary masterpieces according to most, but they have mean a lot to me and I believe they add value to my life. I’m not that worried about buying new books because it wasn’t something I shopped for often; I also have a Kobo Aura to get books on; and I’m in school so reading time is all about class readings (yay, law!).

And a plus from this project? I got the rest of my family in on it too! The living room bookcases are looking mighty tidy.

Leave a Reply

